Saturday, June 25, 2022
HomeIndiaAIMIM announces 1st list of 9 candidates for UP polls

AIMIM announces 1st list of 9 candidates for UP polls

All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Sunday announced its first list of candidates for the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections.

The party led by Hyderabad MP Asaduddin Owaisi declared candidates for nine seats. The party released the list signed by its UP unit president Shaukat Ali.

According to the list, Dr. Mahtab will contest from the Loni constituency in Ghaziabad district. Furqan Chaudhry is an AIMIM candidate from Garh Mukteshwar in the Hapur district while Haji Arif will contest from Dhaulana in the same district.

The Hyderabad-headquartered party has decided to give tickets to Rafat Khan from Siwal Khas and to Zeeshan Alam from Saradhana. It has fielded Tasleem Ahmad from Kithore. All three constituencies are in the Meerut district.

ALSO READ: Asaduddin Owaisi alleges part of his speech being quoted out of context

The other candidates are Shaheen Raza Khan (Bareilly-124) in Bareilly district Amjad Ali (Behat) and Margoob Hasan (Saharanpur Dehat), both in Saharanpur district

AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi had said in November that his party will contest 100 of the 403 Assembly seats in Uttar Pradesh. The party’s efforts to have poll alliances with some smaller parties have not yielded results.

The Assembly elections are scheduled to be held in seven phases between February 10 and March 7. A total of 58 constituencies will go to the polls in the first phase on February 10.




(This story has been sourced from a third-party syndicated feed, agencies. Raavi Media accepts no responsibility or liability for the dependability, trustworthiness, reliability, and data of the text.  Raavi Media management/ reserves the sole right to alter, delete or remove (without notice) the content at its absolute discretion for any reason whatsoever.)