Sunday, May 19, 2024
HomeHyderabadEx-minister Tummala quits BRS, joins Congress

Ex-minister Tummala quits BRS, joins Congress

Former minister Tummala Nageswara Rao on Saturday resigned from Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS) and joined the Congress party. He formally joined the Congress party just before the Congress Working Committee (CWC) began its meeting in Hyderabad.

Congress president Mallikarjun Kharge welcomed him into the party. State Congress chief A. Revanth Reddy, AICC in-charge for Telangana, Manikrao Thakrey, and other leaders were present.

The former minister was miffed with BRS after he was denied a ticket from the Palair constituency for the coming Assembly elections. The BRS has given the ticket to Kandla Upender Reddy, who was elected on a Congress ticket in 2018 but later defected to the BRS.

Also Read: Congress CWC Meeting and Telangana Development Pledges

Nageswara Rao, who has been with the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) since its inception in the early 1980s, had served as a minister in the undivided Andhra Pradesh in the cabinets of N.T. Rama Rao and Chandrababu Naidu later became the minister in Telangana’s first government.

A five-time MLA and senior leader from Khammam district, he joined Telangana Rashtra Samithi (now BRS) in 2014 after the formation of Telangana state.  He was minister for roads and buildings in the first TRS government headed by KCR.

Nageswara Rao was elected on the TRS ticket from Palair in the 2016 by-election. However, in 2018, he lost to Upender Reddy. Meanwhile, Jitta Balakrishna Reddy and Yennam Srinivasa Reddy, who were suspended from the BJP recently for anti-party activities, also joined the Congress party.  Congress MP Komatireddy Venkat Reddy admitted them into the






(This story is sourced from a third-party syndicated feed. Raavi Media takes no responsibility or liability of any nature. Raavi Media management/ can alter or delete the content without notice for any reason.)