Friday, March 1, 2024
HomeHyderabadSachin Tendulkar felicitates the Hyderabad Half Marathon Winners

Sachin Tendulkar felicitates the Hyderabad Half Marathon Winners

Telangana’s B Ramesh Chandra and Maharashtra’s Prajakta Godbole cantered to victory in the prestigious Ageas Federal Life Insurance Hyderabad Half Marathon 2023, here on Sunday. On a pleasant morning, with a cool breeze for comfort, Ramesh Chandra cracked the 21.1 kms in one hour 13 minutes and 10 seconds to be crowned Half Marathon champion.

Satish Kumar (1.15:50) and Piyush Masane (1.16:56) tailed him to the finish line to take the other two positions on the podium in this category. Among women, 28-year-old Prajakta Godbole underlined her reputation as one of India’s top distance runners by covering the half-marathon distance in an impressive one hour 23 minutes, and 45 seconds.

Preenu Yadav (1.24.46) and TejaswiniUmbkane (1.25:11) grabbed the second and third places behind her. Cricketing icon and Brand Ambassador of Ageas Federal Life Insurance, Sachin Tendulkar flagged off over 8,000 runners at the crack of dawn, making the Hyderabad HalfMarathon 2023, organized by NEB Sports, one of the biggest running events down south.

Also Read: 22,500 runners participate in Airtel Hyderabad Marathon

Later, Tendulkar, along with Pullela Gopichand, Chief National Coach of the Indian Badminton team, felicitated the winners of the Half Marathon. “I congratulate the winners of this edition of the Hyderabad HalfMarathon. I am pleased to see such an impressive turnout and congratulate not just the winners, but everyone who participated across all the categories with the determination to RunAgeless, RunFearless,” Tendulkar said.

“It is our pleasure to be part of the HHM as title sponsor. Our goal is to make it even bigger in future editions so that a fearless culture of running seeps in among the youth,” Vighnesh Shahane, MD & CEO, of Ageas Federal Life Insurance, said. “We thank all the participants and encourage the enthusiasts to keep running through the year,” he added.

The Timed 10K was a straight fight between Chetan Kumar (0.34:21) and Bharat Singh (0.35:13) for the most part before Chetan surged into the lead to take the crown. Nikhil Erigila (0.35:24) came in a commendable third.

Among women, Sheelu Yadav (0.41:34) was the clear winner, taking the title with a big margin of 7 minutes. Muskan (0.48:29) and YankeyDukpa (0.50:04) finished second and third.

(This story is sourced from a third-party syndicated feed. Raavi Media takes no responsibility or liability of any nature. Raavi Media management/ can alter or delete the content without notice for any reason.)