Wednesday, June 16, 2021
HomeTelanganaTelangana Nagarjunasagar Assembly Bypoll Begins; Voter Turnouts Cross 50 Percent

Telangana Nagarjunasagar Assembly Bypoll Begins; Voter Turnouts Cross 50 Percent

In the recent update, voting for the Nagarjunasagar Assembly bypoll in Telangana has begun on Saturday morning.

Covid Patients To Vote Later

As per the reports, the polling started at 7 am and will continue till 7pm. The last hour is saved for the Covid 19 patients to vote in the bypoll elections. In total there are 2,20,300 voters in the constituency.

ALSO READ:  Smooth polling in Nagarjunasagar Assembly bypoll, 31% voting by 11 a.m.

The officials said that there are a total of 346 centres where the voting isn being conducted in the constituency of Nalgonda district. All Covid 19 guidelines are being strictly followed. And 5,535 police personnel have been deployed to ensure that the polling is being conducted safely. The poll authorities have arranged a 1446 electronic voting machines. The byelections are said to decide the future of 41 candidates.

Uptill 1 pm, the bypolls have recorded a total 53.3% of voter turnout.

Bypoll Elections Welcomes New Faces

The bypoll elections in Telangana come after TRS MLA Nomula Narsimhaiah died on December 1, 2020. He died at the age of 64 and the cause of death is said to be cardiac arrest. Reports suggest that he had complained of chest pain. Soon after his family made arrangements to shift him to a private hospital but he died on the way to the hospital.

Nomula is a three-time MLA and was first elected from Nakrekal on a CPM ticket for two times. He later joined TRS and contested from Nagarjunasagar Assembly. Even though he got defeated in 2014, he came back to power in 2018.

The current bypoll has the ruling TRS against the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Congress. The TRS is fielding Nomula Bhagat, son of Late Nomula Narsimhaiah. At the same time, the Congress has their strong man on the field, Minister K Jana Reddy. And BJP has P Ravi Kumar Naik.

ALSO READ: Heavy flood water reached Nagarjunasagar Dam

The current bypoll elections acquired a major significance after the BJP wrestled the Dubbaka Assembly bypoll from the ruling TRS in November last year.