Sunday, October 25, 2020
Home India Bihar Poll Manifesto Released by The Grand Alliance, Pledges Change

Bihar Poll Manifesto Released by The Grand Alliance, Pledges Change

On Saturday, the Grand Alliance in Bihar issued its election manifesto or ‘Sankalp Patra’, and emphasized its commitment to give 10 lakh jobs to the youths of the state and waive farm loans in the event that it got back to power.

Named ‘Our Pledge for Change’, the manifesto was issued by Rashtriya Janata Dal head Tejashwi Yadav within the presence of Congress head Randeep Singh Surjewala and other Grand Alliance or Mahagathbandhan accomplice heads.

The manifesto vows to waive charges for different requirement assessments in Bihar, aside from travel expenses of candidates to the assessment centres.

It additionally guarantees ‘same pay for same work’ for contract educators, aside from opening Karpuri labour crisis centres.

Taking a jab at the Nitish Kumar government, Tejashwi stated that Bihar had failed to get special status still when a ‘double engine’ government was in force in the state and the Centre.

He asked: “Will US President Donald Trump come to get Bihar the special status?”

In his most recent attack on the ruling party, LJP chief Chirag Paswan on Friday stated that deciding in favour of the Nitish Kumar-drove Janata Dal [United] or JD[U] would mean driving the state to “backwardness”. Paswan, who delivered the party’s list of candidates for 53 Bihar Assembly seats which will go to polls in the subsequent stage, likewise guaranteed voters to actualizes its ‘Bihar first, Bihari first’ vision document whenever casted a vote to power.

In the interim, the worry among a segment of the Congress of the RJD giving it a terrible bargain in the 70 seats designated to it as a part of the Mahagathbandhan, is by all accounts justified. Of the 70 seats, the Congress has not won 45 over the past twenty years, with 12 won by either the BJP or its partner JD(U). In 18 of the 70, even Congress ally RJD has not won in 20 years.

The elections for 243 Assembly seats will be held in three stages – for 71 seats on October 28, for 94 seats on November 3, and staying 78 on November 7. The results will be reported on November 10.


with IANSinput